Rihm, Sciarrino, Moody, Metcalf - Featuring The Hilliard Ensemble


ECHO Klassik Award 2005

New vocal music written for Singer Pur: works by Wolfgang Rihm, Salvatore Sciarrino, Ivan Moody and Joanne Metcalf (up to 10 parts).

"One can be brief about the interpretation: immaculate intonation, homogeneous sound, clear diction, I dare say: brilliant. The sound engineers have also done an excellent job. ... An extraordinary recording
(Klassik HEUTE 03 / 05)


Title list

  1. Wolfgang Rihm: Tristis est anima mea  
  2. Wolfgang Rihm: Ecce vidimus eum
  3. Wolfgang Rihm: Velum templi scissum est
  4. Wolfgang Rihm: Tenebrae factae sunt
  5. Salvatore Sciarrino: Responsorio delle tenebre a sei voci (2001)  
  6. Ivan Moody: Lamentation of the Virgin
  7. Joanne Metcalf: Maria I (Countertenor solo)
  8. Joanne Metcalf: Quivi è la rosa (Sopran, Countertenor, Tenor)
  9. Joanne Metcalf: Maria II (Singer Pur)
  10. Joanne Metcalf: Il nome del bel fior (Hilliard Ensemble)
  11. Joanne Metcalf: Maria III (Hilliard Ensemble)
  12. Joanne Metcalf: Io sono amore angelico (Singer Pur) 
  13. Joanne Metcalf: Maria IV (Tutti)
  14. Wolfgang Rihm: Caligaverunt oculi mei
  15. Wolfgang Rihm: Recessit pastor noster  
  16. Wolfgang Rihm: Aestimatus sum 

Audio samples

David SkudlikCD