Adrian Willaert: „Musica Nova” - The Petrarca-Madrigals


On the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the path breaking collection Musica Nova – Venetian Renaissance madrigals and motets by Adrian Willaert (ca. 1490-1562) – we managed to at least record all the madrigals on a double CD. All but one are settings of sonnets from the Canzoniere by Francesco Petrarca (1304-1374).

A special booklet, containing all texts in Italian, German and English and musicological essays by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Horn, Prof. Dr. Raz Binyamini und Dr. Katelijne Schiltz is included.

For this recording, which contains some 7part pieces, we enjoyed the vocal support of our highly esteemed countertenor colleague Franz Vitzthum.

Title list


  1. Quando fra l’altre donne (Canzoniere Nr. 13)
  2. Io mi rivolgo (Canzoniere Nr. 15)
  3. Quest’ anima gentil (Canzoniere Nr. 31)
  4. I begli occhi (Canzoniere Nr. 75)
  5. Occhi piangete, accompagnate il core (Canzoniere Nr. 84)
  6. Io amai sempre (Canzoniere Nr. 85) 
  7. Amor, Fortuna (Canzoniere Nr. 124)
  8. Che fai alma? che pensi? (Canzoniere Nr. 150)
  9. I vidi in terra (Canzoniere Nr. 156)
  10. Ove ch′i posi gli occhi (Canzoniere Nr. 158)
  11. In qual parte del ciel (Canzoniere Nr. 159)
  12. Pien d′un vago pensier (Canzoniere Nr. 169)

total 57:25


  1. Più volte già (Canzoniere Nr. 170)
  2. Giunto m′ha Amor (Canzoniere Nr. 171)  
  3. O invidia (Canzoniere Nr. 172)
  4. Passa la nave mia (Canzoniere Nr. 189)  
  5. Lasso, ch′i ardo (Canzoniere Nr. 203)
  6. Onde tolsa Amor l′oro (Canzoniere Nr. 220)
  7. Liete e pensose (Canzoniere Nr. 222)
  8. Cantai, hor piango (Canzoniere Nr. 229)  
  9. I piansi, hor canto (Canzoniere Nr. 230)
  10. Aspro core (Canzoniere Nr. 265)
  11. Mentre che′l cor (Canzoniere Nr. 304)
  12. L′aura mia sacra (Canzoniere Nr. 356)
  13. Quando nascesti, Amor (Panfilo Sasso)

total 64:12

Audio samples

David SkudlikCD